Just back from speaking at the annual Lincolnshire Early Years Conference http://goo.gl/eZiAi. As always it offered a veritable smorgasbord of ideas and experiences to inspire and energise. There’s always such a buzz at these events. One glance at the corridors crammed full with enticing tactile displays from Early Years settings and I knew I was in for a treat before I’d even made it to the exhibition hall or workshops!

So here are my highlights from the 2011 Early Years Conference focussing on communication:

  •  The buzz and energy of the whole event (did I mention that already?)
  • A ‘sea’ of positive, happy people
  • Hearing and seeing some thought provoking facts from Julian Grenier
  • Squeaking like mice and taking flight to the moon with Rhubarb Theatre Co
  • Having fun splashing about in water and yet more water
  • The fab fair-trade chocolate (perfect for the journey home)
  • Enticing exhibition
  • Getting to know my great (and brave) temp Sheila, who started off bamboozled by sensory play and left with a great grasp of our products and services http://goo.gl/Bj6QZ
  • Not falling off the stage and the warm glow of laughter at my story of winkles (another blog about that one, methinks…)

All in all a fantastically energising two days of ideas, inspiration, play and fun.

I first met the organisers – Lincolnshire Early Years Service – at the Nursery World Awards dinner two years ago (it was a memorable night as we both picked up winners’ awards!) They have a great approach to all things ‘Birth to Five’ – roll on EYC 2012!

